The Ode Collection '68-'76
Home ] Kansas ] Mark Karan ] Jorma Kaukonen ] Carole King ] Little Feat ]

The Ode Collection '68-'76
The Living Room Tour

Set Lists




The Ode Collection 1968-1976


Order: Amazon 

Carole King Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 ' 76 review

Natural Woman:
The Ode Collection 1968-'76

If you are looking for one Carole King recording this is the way to go. This includes the complete Tapestry album as well as highlights from throughout King's career. The inclusion of the complete Tapestry album confirms its greatness, and also assures buyers of this box-set that they aren't being short changed by missing a few key tracks from that.

Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 - '76 is mostly organized chronically and it includes some unreleased tracks and live recordings. The first discs best moments supplement Tapestry with a sampling of songs from the album that preceded it, Writer, and followed it, Music, both which have elements of Tapestry. From Writer, "Up On a Rooftop" features James Taylor, and "Child Of Mine" smartly display Kings vocals. 

The second disc is not to die for, but it does have lots of excellent material, along with a few tracks that I can do without. Quite a bit of her Rhymes and Reasons album is represented. "Goodbye Don't Mean I'm Gone" offers country elements with pedal steel guitar and a bright and friendly chorus. "Ties That Bind" is jazzy with a Steely Dan approach to both the horns and guitar solo (though tamer).

Wrap Around Joy, has three tracks featured including her smash hit "Jazzman" that is known for its upbeat melody and Tom Scott's saxophone solo. Meanwhile the title track features Jim Horn on sax. Horn is a superb studio musician, who became known after his work with Duane Eddy

The last song features a live rendition of "You've Got A Friend" from her live album Live at Carnegie Hall '71.On it James Taylor joins her where they perform a version so pretty that you'll be stunned.

Many casual fans of Carole King's music think that Tapestry is the only album by her you'll need. This Anthology puts that myth to rest. It is true that Tapestry is her best work and if you have limited resources, that is the CD to get. However, there is an abundance of excellent other Carole King material to enjoy. 
by Barry Small © 
Grade A +

Carole King Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 ' 76 review
Track List

 Top of Page


Carole King box-set - Buy from Amazon
A Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 - 1976

Carole King - cd reviews and discography
Track Song Album
1 Hi-De-Ho (That Old Sweet Roll) Now That Everything's Been Said
2 Wasn't Born to Follow Now That Everything's Been Said
3 Up on the Roof Writer
4 Child of Mine Writer
5 I Feel the Earth Move Tapestry
6 So Far Away Tapestry
7 It's Too Late Tapestry
8 Home Again Tapestry
9 Beautiful Tapestry
10 Way over Yonder Tapestry
11 You've Got a Friend Tapestry
12 Where You Lead Tapestry
13 Will You Love Me Tomorrow? Tapestry
14 Smackwater Jack Tapestry
15 Tapestry Tapestry
16 (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman Tapestry
17 Music Music
18 Brother, Brother Music
19 Sweet Seasons Music
20 Pocket Money From the film Pocket Money
21 It's Going to Take Some Time Rhymes & Reasons
22 Bitter With the Sweet Rhymes & Reasons
23 Goodbye Don't Mean I'm Gone Rhymes & Reasons
24 At This Time in My Life Outtake -Rhymes & Reasons
25 Been to Canaan Rhymes & Reasons
26 Ties That Bind Outtake -Rhymes & Reasons
27 Corazón Fantasy
28 Believe in Humanity Live in Central Park
29 Jazzman Wrap Around Joy
30 Wrap Around Joy Wrap Around Joy
31 Nightingale Wrap Around Joy
32 Really Rosie Really Rosie
33 Alligators All Around Really Rosie
34 There's a Space Between Us Thoroughbred
35 Only Love Is Real Thoroughbred
36 You've Got a Friend Live at Carnegie Hall '71


Carole King Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 ' 76 review

Top of Page

Carole King - Piano, Keyboards, Vocals

The list is too long to list. Though, the liner notes include detailed credits.

Carole King Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 ' 76 review

Top of Page

Label Sony
Released 2/24/1998
The liner notes include a biography, detailed credits, and photos.

Carole King Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 ' 76 review


Carole King Natural Woman: The Ode Collection 1968 ' 76 review